Images from the Book Cartographies of Time: A History of the Timeline

While looking through the book I found several different styles of timelines. Some were very text heavy with a lot of information crammed into the text. Shape helped influence this information but only really supported the text that was on the page.

On the opposite side, there were many that were image heavy. Most have little to no text and rely on the images on the page to communicate the information.

Most however used both the images and text to convey the story that they were trying to tell.

It was this one that gave me the idea for the shape of my own timeline for Looper.

I was originally going to try for a circle timeline much like this one. To me it shows the idea that like a circle time goes on without a break, turn, or angle. I scratched the idea after a few sketches that didn’t turn out the way I wanted. Mostly I was running into issues about fitting the idea of time travel into this format.

Leave a Reply

